Meeker Animal Control / Dog Pound

Meeker Animal Control / Dog Pound

https://www.townofmeeker.org/animal-control-code-enforcement/

Animal Control/Code Enforcement

Animal Control/Code Enforcement consists of one 40 hour per week officer who is responsible for enforcing the animal control and municipal code ordinances, managing the shelter and part time kennel helpers. The office is located at Town hall, 345 Market Street, in the Police Department.

Notices of recovered dogs are on the front window at Town Hall. Contact information: If you need immediate assistance or need to bring a dog to shelter or pick one up, call PD at 878-5555.  Office 970-878-4968, cell: 970-756-4762 email: laurel@town.meeker.co.us

Reporting Animal Issues

To report an animal complaint please call the Police Department at (970) 878-5555

Animal Shelter

The Animal Shelter is located at 109 3rd Street. The animal shelter reunites owners with lost pets and finds unwanted animals loving homes. The Animal Shelter is PACFA Licensed.

Pet Licensing

All animals in the Town of Meeker are required by law to be licensed. 1 year and 3-year licenses are available at Town Hall and The Vet Clinic.

To get your dog licensed you will need:

  • Proof of current rabies vaccination (must be paper certificate)
  • Fee for license: altered dog 1 year-$5, 3 year-$15.  Proof of spay or neuter.
  • Non-altered dog 1 year-$15, 3 year-$45

Adopting a new pet

We encourage all perspective adoptive parents to consider adoptions carefully. We are looking for forever homes for our dogs. Call Animal Control at 970-878-4968, 970-756-4762  or go to www.petfinder.com and type in “Meeker” to see current animals available for adoption.

Adoption Fees

  • Dog is altered $50
  • Dog if unaltered add refundable spay or neuter deposit $50

Donations and Volunteer Information

The Meeker Animal Shelter is happy to have volunteers. We require a volunteer consent form to be signed and children under 18 must be accompanied by an adult. Volunteers walk dogs and play with dogs and puppies. Minor cleaning and maintenance can also be done if so desired.

We are always happy to receive donations. Leashes, collars, toys, dog biscuits, treats, and dog food are greatly appreciated. Monetary donations can be made to Town Hall in care of the Animal Shelter or directly to The Vet Clinic for vet care and spay/neuter of the shelter animals.

Lisa Cook
Town Administrator
lisa@town.meeker.co.us 

Planning Office
Town Planner (vacant)
plan@town.meeker.co.us 

Carl Padilla
Building Inspector/Code Enforcement
carl@town.meeker.co.us 

Julie McNay
Water Clerk
julie@town.meeker.co.us 

Kathy Sizemore
Police Secretary
kathy@town.meeker.co.us 

Amy Tupy
Town Clerk
amy@town.meeker.co.us

Lisa Pakuer
Admin Assistant
lisapakuer@town.meeker.co.us 

Edward Thompson
Chief of Police
ed@town.meeker.co.us

Brian Ahearn
Police Officer
 brian@town.meeker.co.us 

Otis Hayes
Police Lieutenant
otis@town.meeker.co.us 

Justin Yates
Police Officer
justin@town.meeker.co.us 

Wylie Hetzel
Police Officer
wylie@town.meeker.co.us

Laurel Haney
Animal Control Officer
laurel@town.meeker.co.us 

Russell Overton
Public Works Superintendent
streets@town.meeker.co.us 

Tobey Willey
Water Operator/Assist. Superintendent
townshop@town.meeker.co.us 

 

345 Market Street (156.66 mi)
Meeker, CO, CO 81641
Highlights info row image
(970) 878-5344

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *